My story of stopping topical steroids and healing severe eczema

Hello! My name is Ben, and I have started this blog to share my journey of stopping steroids and healing severe eczema.

I was using mid to high potency topical steroids almost daily for close to 20 years, and had a few rounds of oral steroids. The choice to stop being reliant on steroids was not easy. But when the doctor said I had to progress to steroid jabs or immunosuppressants as creams weren’t effective anymore, and my body might even get resistant to that in the longer-term, I knew it was not a sustainable solution.

The first few months were tough, as many of you who have just started or are still in TSW would know. The photos are below.ben-tsw

What helped me was the following:
1) Diet. No gluten, dairy, seafood (less fish), MSG, soy, nightshade vegetables. A typical meal was grilled/baked salmon (high in EPA/DHA), steamed vegetables (retains nutrients), brown or occasionally white rice. And no cheating!
2) Herbs, to support liver/kidney detoxification (nettles, cleavers), adrenal glands as long-term high potency steroid use might cause adrenal suppression (licorice, rhodiola, rehmannia) and digestive system (chamomile, gentian).
3) Nutritional supplements. The most effective for me was fish oils (1.8g of EPA a day, Douglas Labs or Nordic Naturals brand)
4) NAET
5) Prayer and support (family, friends and the good folks from the eczema support group))
6) Patience. To stick to one practitioner and not keep switching. To openly discuss progress (or lack of progress) with the practitioner. To work together with the practitioner to get well. While we all want quick fixes and might be tempted to jump to different practitioners, this might delay healing.

I still eat a clean diet but I don’t take herbs or nutritional supplements regularly anymore.

I hope this sharing provides some encouragement and hope for fellow individuals with eczema!

Leave a comment